Yep, I ate that

elvis bread March 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — yep, i ate that @ 5:30 am
Tags: , , , ,

I’m not a huge bread eater.

{ironically there are 3 different loaves of bread in my kitchen right now}

Homemade sourdough bread that my grandma makes yes.

Olive Garden bread sticks. Absolutely.

And sure I eat a slice or two of toast every morning, Orowheat healthfull nuttygrain or 10 grain is my preference.

But Mrs Baird’s bread not so much.

I like my daily morning toast with jelly or peanut butter. Never both. PB and jelly do not go together. Peanut butter goes with honey. Or bananas. Not strawberry jelly.

The best bread to have for breakfast?

Pumpkin bread. Banana bread. Zucchini bread.

or even better

Banana bread. With. Peanut butter.

Adapted from this recipe.

The line up:

  • 6 very ripe bananas (I have a friend that calls these dead bananas)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup + 1 Tbsp  brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 4oz applesauce cup (no sugar added)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup yogurt (I use Chobani – either plain or vanilla will work)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Play-by-play

  • Preheat oven to 350*, spray muffin pans with non-stick cooking spray.

  • To a large bowl add bananas and sugars, mix with a hand mixer until bananas are almost completely broken down
  • Add eggs, applesauce, oil, yogurt, cinnamon and vanilla. Mix until well combined.
  • Sprinkle in baking soda, let dissolve in wet mixture for a few minutes before moving on.
  • Add flours and salt. Combine, then mix on high speed for 3-5 minutes.
  • Add batter to pans, bake in preheated oven until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 18-20 minutes for regular size muffins.

These are good warm, room temp or even cold.

But, my favorite way to eat them is warm, sliced in half with PB to make a banana muffin PB sandwich. Yummm.

**To make peanut butter banana bread, add 1/2 to 1 full cup PB to batter with wet ingredients, allow 5-8 minutes additional baking time.

 

4 Responses to “elvis bread”

  1. Heather Says:

    Those look awesomely messy 🙂

  2. Joanne Says:

    I actually have no bread on hand at all…but that’s about to change. Because these look amazing.

  3. I like your sandwich idea. Totally delish. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your elvis bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/04/sweets-for-saturday-11.html

  4. Alyssa Says:

    I’m having another Themed Baker’s Sunday linky party! The theme this week is bread! I’d love for you to join!
    http://cupcakeapothecary.blogspot.com/2011/05/themed-bakers-sunday-4.html
    Alyssa


Leave a Reply

