Yep, I ate that

peppermint mocha December 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — yep, i ate that @ 9:58 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ll be the first to admit I love love LOVE Starbucks Peppermint Mocha. What I don’t love so much is the $5 price tag for a grande (12ounce) cup or this…

{source}

 

310 calories.

In a cup of coffee.

A cup that I drink so fast in the morning that if I could afford I’d have another 2 or 3.

So.

What to do.

Figure out how to make it at home. For less $$ and less calories.

 

I think this is pretty close

 

8 ounces strong coffee

1 tsp cocoa powder

about 2 ounces warmed milk

Splenda, to taste

about 1/8 tsp peppermint extract

 

 

I make my coffee in a french press and add the cocoa to the ground coffee, but I have also just stirred it into the brewed coffee and it works just the same.

Add warm milk and splenda & peppermint extract, stir. Drink up.

If you wanted to be extra fancy you could top with whipped cream and some crushed candy cane pieces.

 

 

3 Responses to “peppermint mocha”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by holly. holly said: peppermint mocha: http://wp.me/pTTuI-bV […]

  2. Joanne Says:

    Yeah I adore starbucks holiday drinks but the calorie count just isn’t worth it. Love your homemade healthy version!

  3. loveee creating restaurant drinks and meals at home! You have a great lil invention here 🙂


Leave a Reply

