Yep, I ate that

a new plan July 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — yep, i ate that @ 11:45 am
Tags: ,

Normally on Saturday or Sunday, I plan what I want to eat for the week, not meals necessarily but a general plan of what I’ll eat all week.  Then I go shopping and buy stuff for that plan plus whatever fruit looks good.

The problem with this plan?

Other than that I rarely actually make the meals that I plan. Is that by Thursday or Friday the bananas have all turned dark brown and mushy, the plums are starting to wrinkle, and the last couple weeks salad greens aren’t making it past Wednesday.

So this week I have a new plan. Still made a list of things I’d like to have during the week, but didn’t actually write out a grocery list of what to buy. So off to the grocery store I went, with only a list of  what I want to eat this week. And the idea to only get enough fruit to last until Wednesday, then I’ll go for another quick grocery trip after the gym on Wednesday.

Here’s my list:

Fish tacos
Stir-fry
Caesar salad
Crab and corn something
Salmon patties?
Navy beans and cornbread (didn’t have this last week and still thinking about it)

And watermelon.

What I bought….

4 bananas
3 small apples
3 yogurt cups
Asparagus
Crab
Red bell pepper
Yellow bell pepper
Orange bell pepper
Corn-on-the-cob
Grapes
Jicama
Peanut butter
Hummus
Small bag of mixed greens and spinach, instead of the huge boxes I normally buy.

So maybe I won’t have my fish tacos until after I go shopping again Wednesday, but I still have plenty of stuff for lunch salads, and for 4 of my meal ideas (already have the salmon, navy beans & cornbread).

*** I didn’t stick to this plan….. at all****

 

2 Responses to “a new plan”

  1. Wonderful site and theme, would really like to see a bit more content though!
    Great post all around, added your XML feed! Love this theme, too!

  2. Joanne Says:

    I try my best to menu plan and sometimes it works but sometimes it doesn’t. At all. I’d say the whole thing is a work in progress.


Leave a Reply

